Chardham yatra in India is one of the most demanded pilgrimages not only in India but also in all over the world. This place is visited by huge number of devotees visited towards the almighty. Devotees trek these Chardham destinations to pay their devotion to the almighty every year and it is the form of attaining salvation. This sanctified Chardham journey is the small circuit of four holy destinations which are situated in the Garhwal region of Uttaranchal state. These four precious shines which included in the Hindu pilgrimage sites are Yamunotri, Gangotri, Kedarnath and Badrinath etc.

According to Hindu tradition, this famous yatra undertakes from the left to right location i.e. in the direction of west to east. So the yatra starts from the Yamunotri which is later followed by Gangotri and then Kedarnath and finally ends in Badrinath. Let’s discuss all the major dhams of Chardham pilgrimage tours  in a detailed way.



It is the abode of deity Yamuna on the bank of river Yamuna. The temple of Yamunotri is places at an altitude of 3235 meter above the sea level which is actually located 30 km away from the district of Uttarkashi. The original temple of Yamunotri was constructed by Maharaja Pratap Singh in the 19th century.  It will take 1 day road journey from Rishikesh or Haridwar.  The main temple of Yamuna is located 6 km away from the town of Hanumanchatti that can be easily accessible through walking. Here two thermal springs are present which are called as Gauri Kund and Surya Kund which is positioned just outside of the temple at the Janki Chatti. It has been believed that these holy kunds are having great healing powers. The temple door opens on the day of Akshya Tritiya which helds on the month of May and closes during the Yama Dwitiya which held after two days of Dewali.




It is the residence of the sacred river and the goddess Ganga. The Gangotri shrine is positioned at an elevation of 3048 meters above the sea level. It is one of the most important pilgrimage destinations of Hindu devotees which were built by Gorkha general Amar Singh Thapa during the 18th century.  It will take 1 day to reach Gangotri from Haridwar and Rishikesh and take 2 complete days from Yamunotri. The Gangotri temple will open on May and closed on Dewali. If you are an adventure lover then it will be the best destination for you to trek the 28 km trek route to Gaumukh.  But don’t worry this place is easily accessible by road.



It is another famous destination of Chardham pilgrimage tours which is located in the district of Rudra Prayag in the Uttarakhand state. Located amidst the Himalayan mountain range, this famous shrine stands out with one of the famous twelve jyotirlings of Lord Shiva. The main shrine of Kedarnath is ssituated at an elevation of 3586 meter above the sea level on the bank of Mandakini River. Here one can enjoy spectacular glimpse of snow-capped Himalayan peaks.

In between Kedarnath and Rudra Prayag there are several visiting sites are present. Those sites include Ukhimath, Agastyamuni, Bamsu Vanasur, Phauli-Pasalat Devi Maa, Trijugi Narayan, Kalimath and Kashi Vishwanath at Guptkashi etc. The route of Kedarnath requires 14km foot trek route from Gauri Kund. But the journey to Gauri Kund is easily accessible by road from Haridwar, Rishikesh. Helicopter services are also available to facilitate the devotees.  The temple will open on the tithi of Akshya Tritiya and will close on Bhai Duj in November.



It is the most visited and demanded pilgrimage destination of Chardham pilgrimage tours . It is located on the bank of Alakananda River in the Badrinath hill town. The town of Badrinath lies in between two famous mountain ranges i.e. Nar and Narayana. This holy place worships Lord Vishnu. This temple also includes one hot bath spring which is placed below the temple. The devotees comes to the temple first need to take bath in that hot spring before enter in the temple. This temple open only for six months i.e. from April to November and the rest of the time it is completely covered with snow.

Do you know that Badrinath has certain five shrines which are completely dedicated to Lord Vishnu and the five shrines are referred as Panch Badri.  Panch badri consists Yogadhyan BAdri, Vishal Badri, Bhavishya Badri, Adi BAdri and Vridh Badri.

Why to go for a Chardham Yatra?


The devotees prefer to go for a chardham yatra for attaining the salvation and also get the blessings of almighty in his or her abode. They also believed that after visited these spiritual destinations it will wash away all their sins and release them from the cycle of birth and death.

Update of Chardham yatra 2018:

Every year these places of Uttarakhand are properly maintained by the state authorities to facilitate the tourists. The government of this state has mentioned certain regulations for the devotees for their safety So this year plan your trip towards these four auspicious dham and get the blessing of god and also witness the true beauty of nature through its green landscapes, snow-capped peaks, roaring rivers and divine ambiance. Once you visit these place you will definitely want to visit again in your life because of its calmness, purity and peace of the environment will definitely mesmerise you. Book your trip with the help of a travel organisation so you will not face any kind of trouble during your trip. But choose one of the experience travel firm for booking your trip. Then discuss with them about the trip in a detailed way and then book your entire Chardham pilgrimage tour as per your budget and preference. Collect lots of blessing and memories with you after returning home.

Chardham pilgrimage tours: A spiritual journey towards the abode of serenity

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Chardham pilgrimage tours: A spiritual journey towards the abode of serenity

  1. So far so good! Your thoughts are amazing and I have no doubt in this. I personally Never believe mass media or even low standard writeups. You are amazing and thoughtful. Keep it up. Dr Mathew hall , I have a almost free offer just for you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar